Hotels in Delhi

Delhi was laid out to the south of the Old City which was constructed by Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. However, New Delhi overlays the site of seven ancient cities and hence includes many historic monuments like the Jantar Mantar and the Lodhi Gardens.

Delhi is just not a city but it is a manuscript which narrates the history of India. The city was built and destroyed seven times and has been eyewitness to the various events which has brought India through the history books. Seven times this city went through the pain of being built and rebuilt.

Calcutta was the capital of India until December 1911 during the British Raj. However, Delhi had served as the political and financial centre of several empires of ancient and medieval India, most notably of the Mughal Empire from 1799 to 1849. During the early 1900s, a proposal was made to the British administration to shift the capital of the British Indian Empire from Calcutta to Delhi. Unlike Calcutta, which was located on the eastern coast of India, Delhi was located in northern India and the Government of British India felt that it would be easier to administer India from Delhi rather than from Calcutta. On December 12, 1911, during the Delhi Durbar, George V, the then Emperor of India, along with Queen Mary, his Consort, made the announcement that the capital of the Raj was to be shifted from Calcutta to Delhi, while laying the foundation stone for the Viceroy's residence in the Coronation Park, Kingsway Camp.

The foundation stone of New Delhi was laid by King George V and Queen Mary at the site of Delhi Durbar of 1911 at Kingsway Camp on December 15, 1911, during their imperial visit. Large parts of New Delhi were planned by Edwin Lutyens (Sir Edwin from 1918) and Herbert Baker (Sir Herbert from 1926), both leading 20th century British architects, and the contract was given to Sobha Singh (later Sir Sobha Singh). Lutyens first visited Delhi in 1912, and construction really began after World War I and was completed by 1931, when the city later dubbed "Lutyens' Delhi" was inaugurated on February 13, 1931, by Lord Irwin, the Viceroy. Lutyens laid out the central administrative area of the city as a testament to Britain's imperial aspirations.

Though soon Lutyens started considering other places, and finalized on a site atop the Raisina Hill, formerly Raisina village, a Meo village, for the Rashtrapati Bhawan, then known as the Viceroy's House. Subsequently, the foundation stone was shifted from the site of Delhi Durbar of 1911-1912, where the Coronation Pillar stood as well, and embedded in the walls of the forecourt of the Secretariat. The Rajpath, also known as King's Way, stretched from the India Gate to the Rashtrapati Bhawan. The Secretariat building, which houses various ministries of the Government of India, flanked out of the Rashtrapati Bhawan, and the Parliament House, both designed by Herbert Baker, is located at the Sansad Marg, which runs parallel to the Rajpath.


Tourist attractions:

New Delhi lies within the area of the old city of Delhi, and composed of six different cities established by the various ruling dynasties that ruled India from here. When the British built New Delhi, they constructed many new buildings for various purposes. All these buildings and monuments are among the tourist attractions of New Delhi today and are covered by most of tourist during there tours. The major tourist places are –


v  Red Fort

v  Old Fort

v  Humayun’s Tomb

v  Qutb Minar

v  Mehrauli

v  Jumma Masjid

v  Tughlaqabad

v  Rashtrapati Bhavan ( President’s house )

v  Parliament House

v  Raj Ghat ( Memorial of Mahatma Gandhi )

v  Railway Museum

v  Lotus Temple

v  Akshardham Temple

v  India Gate


Corporate Events

India Tour Packages

© 2010 Travelexpertindia All rights reserved.